PRCA 2330.. beneficial?

Standard

Task: Provide an argument as to why it is/or is not beneficial for a non-public relations major to complete an introductory level public relations course.

I believe that an introductory level public relations course would be beneficial to almost anyone, even to someone who is not a public relations major.  However, it depends on the major you are looking into.  I am a PR major, so this course was a requirement for me. Anyone who is majoring in anything relating to communication studies such as journalism would benefit greatly from taking this course, because we learn how to relay important information to the public which would come in handy if you are looking to be a journalist. Also, business majors would benefit from an intro to PR course. In class we talk a lot about marketing and advertising and any business man or woman can use this knowledge in their future career.  I have learned a lot of useful information so far in my introductory PR class and I would definitely recommend this class to anyone who is looking for an extra elective, whether it is a requirement for them or not. However, someone who is not in the business or communication department might not benefit as much compared to someone who is. For example, my roommate is an exercise science major, so she would not get a whole lot out of this class as I would. But all in all, PRCA 2230 is a helpful and important course. I have learned so many things that will help me in my future career as a PR professional.

For more information regarding public relations and on registering for this course next semester and the times that it is offered please click the following links:

https://my.georgiasouthern.edu/courses/detail.php?course_crn=83228&course_term=201108

http://www.knowthis.com/principles-of-marketing-tutorials/public-relations/advantages-of-public-relations/

About taylorjones

My name is Taylor Jones. I am 20 years old and I play tennis at Georgia Southern University. I am a junior and I have played this sport almost my entire life. I first picked up a racket when I was just three years old and I have been playing ever since. Tennis is my passion. I am very competitive and hard working, especially during a match. I will fight every single point, even if I am down 6-0, 5-0. I am a public relations major. Sports are my life, so I hoping that when I graduate, I will pursue a career dealing with sports.

Leave a Reply

