Is 2012 gonna be the end of the world?

Standard

I am assuming that most everyone has heard about 2012 being the end of the world. I wanted to research this topic, because I find it to be intriguing also somewhat horrifying.

The ancient Maya prophets foretold an earth-shattering happening to occur December 21, 2012. This predicted phenomenon gets described in contradictory but often cataclysmic fashion–as an ecological collapse, a sunspot storm, a rare cosmic conjunction of the earth, sun, and the galactic center, a new and awesome stage of our evolution, and even a sudden reversal of the Earth’s magnetic field which will erase all our computer drives. In sum, the world as we know it will suddenly come to a screeching halt. Pretty scary right?

These predictions are alleged to be prophecies by so-called “Ancient Mayans” whose “astronomically precise” calendar supposedly terminates on that date. According to such accounts, these mysterious Maya geniuses appeared suddenly, built an extraordinary civilization, designed in it clues for us, and then suddenly, inexplicably, vanished, as if they had completed their terrestrial mission.

Hollywood came out with a movie over this debated argument. The movie 2012, starring John Cusack, was released in 2009. The plot follows Jackson Curtis, John Cusack, as he attempts to bring his children, Noah and Lilly (Liam James and Morgan Lily respectively), ex-wife Kate Curtis (Amanda Peet) and her boyfriend, Gordon Silberman (Thomas McCarthy) to refuge and attempt to escape the heightened change in the elements. The film includes references to Mayanism, and the 2012 phenomenon in its portrayal of cataclysmic events unfolding in the year 2012.

Like I said, to me, this is a very scary topic, but it is one that is debated every single day. And until that day has come and gone, I am sure that there will be many people living in fear because of it.

For more information over this topic please see the links below:

http://www.2012warning.com/

http://www.nasa.gov/topics/earth/features/2012.html

http://www.sonypictures.com/movies/2012/

About taylorjones

My name is Taylor Jones. I am 20 years old and I play tennis at Georgia Southern University. I am a junior and I have played this sport almost my entire life. I first picked up a racket when I was just three years old and I have been playing ever since. Tennis is my passion. I am very competitive and hard working, especially during a match. I will fight every single point, even if I am down 6-0, 5-0. I am a public relations major. Sports are my life, so I hoping that when I graduate, I will pursue a career dealing with sports.

Leave a Reply

