Public Relations vs. Journalism

Standard

Public relations and journalism, I believe are meant to be together because they both work to inform the public in one way or another.  PR practitioners need Journalists because the media is the largest outlet to inform the public about their clients. With newsroom cuts and the increasing speed of technology, journalists have twice the workload and less time to research and in-depth reporting. Therefore, journalists turn to PR practitioners for story pitches, press releases, and quick answers to their questions.

I have learned that overall, the relationship between the two sides is becoming… more distant as technology replaces face-to-face meetings. Also, studies have shown the fact that fewer journalists are going into public relations–and the fact that fewer PR people are going into journalism. This has  helped widen the relationship gap.

However, I came  across other reasons on how public relations has differed from journalism.
  • PR is meant for a targeted audience, while Journalism is for mass audience.
  • PR is all about bringing good image to any company,firm, and corporation, while Journalism is all about facts and truths.
  • PR is a personal message to serve in the interest of client or a company, whilst journalism is in the interest of general public and its an impersonal message.

If you would like to know more information on this topic, here are some websites you might want to visit:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CbiMXV8U4M (video relating to PR and Journalism)

http://www.uncp.edu/home/acurtis/Courses/ResourcesForCourses/PublicRelations/Journalist_vs_PR_Professional.html

http://www.prconversations.com/index.php/2007/06/anne-gregory-on-relationships-between-public-relations-and-journalism/

About taylorjones

My name is Taylor Jones. I am 20 years old and I play tennis at Georgia Southern University. I am a junior and I have played this sport almost my entire life. I first picked up a racket when I was just three years old and I have been playing ever since. Tennis is my passion. I am very competitive and hard working, especially during a match. I will fight every single point, even if I am down 6-0, 5-0. I am a public relations major. Sports are my life, so I hoping that when I graduate, I will pursue a career dealing with sports.

Leave a Reply

