Is public relations as glamorous as Samantha Jones makes you believe?

Standard

Task: To explain some myths and preconceptions of the field of public relations, and to explain why I believe they exist.

My example is Samantha Jones off of Sex and the City. I have grown up watching this tv show and have recently seen the newest movie. Samantha Jones makes public relations look like the best job in the world. She attends parties with the best of the best celebrities and is invited to movie premieres on a regular basis. But is this a real example of a public relations person or a misconception of it? For years as I watched this show I believed that this is what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

However, PR is not as glamorous as Hollywood portrays it. Sex and the City gives you a “fake” version of this career. If you have ever heard the saying, “you can’t believe what you see on tv”, that portrays to this show. It tells you all the good things about the job, but not all the effort that is put into it.  Its not all about attending parties with the A listers. PR is not about throwing and attending lavish parties, it is about networking and putting on events. This profession involves hard work and dedication, long hours, and time management skills. After learing what the real life example of public relations is, I began to question if this is something I really saw myself doing? But  I had to tell myself that the best things in life aren’t free, you have to work for them.

So to answer the question, Sex and the City is a myth of what a public relations person does. Although, there are perks to this career, such as attending fancy parties with celebrities, but you don’t get there automatically. You have to work your way up the ladder. I have learned a lot by taking this intro to public relations class. I have learned what public relations really is, and like any job it takes patience and hard work!

For more information on this topic please follow the links below:

http://www.mslworldwide.com/chicagoblog/2011/06/02/samantha-jones-couldn%E2%80%99t-do-what-we-do/

http://ezinearticles.com/?The-True-Meaning-of-Public-Relations&id=483407

About taylorjones

My name is Taylor Jones. I am 20 years old and I play tennis at Georgia Southern University. I am a junior and I have played this sport almost my entire life. I first picked up a racket when I was just three years old and I have been playing ever since. Tennis is my passion. I am very competitive and hard working, especially during a match. I will fight every single point, even if I am down 6-0, 5-0. I am a public relations major. Sports are my life, so I hoping that when I graduate, I will pursue a career dealing with sports.

Leave a Reply

